News: After School’s Nana talks about her misunderstood personality on ‘Roommate’

After School’s Nana has received a bit of heat for her actions on ‘Roommate’ and her other variety appearances on ‘Style Log’, as some viewers interpreted her personality to be a bit rude and disrespectful. However, Nana claimed that she was just trying to be friendly.

“I was trying to be natural and be friendlier, but from a certain moment, it felt wrong,” she said. “Especially when I was doing ‘Style Log’, since the model oppas were very quiet and introverted, I tried to liven up the atmosphere. But some people weren’t able to get used to that. Instead of thinking, ‘she’s trying hard’, they think, ‘why is she doing that?’.”

“I’m honestly trying to show my real natural side, but I think that might be tough to swallow for some people,” she continued. “I normally didn’t pay attention to Internet comments and just let bad comments go in one ear and out the other, but I can’t do that anymore. If people didn’t previously know about my personality and my speaking voice, they do now since I started to go on varieties.”

 

“It might just be me overreacting, but I now think really hard about everything I say,” she said to an attentive Hong Soo Hyun. “I’m a person, so it’s a bit scary.”

 

credit: allkpop

This entry was posted in Hot Topic, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to News: After School’s Nana talks about her misunderstood personality on ‘Roommate’

  1. MoChiMP . says:

    haters will never satisfied on you no matter how hard you tried, Nana.
    don’t bother them!!!!!! you have many fans who always support you.

  2. ueeshi says:

    sorry nana but stop acting like child with full aegys and your voice and don’t be disrespect with the elders

    • Ichoskyu says:

      U don hv right 2 judge her like u totally know her well..she had a reason…i was wondering if u be on her shoes n i comment same like u did,so hw u feel…

      • ueeshi says:

        sorry but I know more than you, I think,

        I know her since she joined after school.

        watching the many variety show.

        his personality is not all that in roomate. I know that NANA is not a cold person but it is not too excited and weird with 4D personality she tries to hard to get it and to convince us.

        when people criticize it is not because it is a hate but they also want to tell their point of view on something they have noticed.

        NaNA to a lot of awkwardness (4minute, disrespect for elders, the thing with CL, disrespect with the comedian, the narcissism with its title of second most beautiful face with all the pictures of her hung everywhere).

        I say this because I want that girl to become more popular but it is now it is going to take a lot of insult by many people (especially Koreans who are strict with manners).

        • ueeshi says:

          a hater is someone who hates a person without a valid reason and insult with harsh words enunciate without valid arguments.

          but to say our opinion is not a crime it is not because we are a fan of someone we should all approved his actions like crazy and obsessed fans.

          and it’s not because I said that I’ll stop following NANA I am a fan for better or for worse.

          • AdamFJH says:

            @ueeshi:disqus I’m very sure you are a hater. One thing that gave it away was that you are a UEE fan and UEE fans are notorious for voicing their hate for Nana in this fandom and of course there’s that comment of yours that started all this, your arguments against Nana aren’t valid or justified and your statement here “NaNA to a lot of awkwardness (4minute, disrespect for elders, the thing with CL, disrespect with the comedian, the narcissism with its title of second most beautiful face with all the pictures of her hung everywhere)” is a load of crap i.e. not justified. Right now I’m too busy with this current promotion, I’ll continue this with you after the “A Midsummmer Night’s Sweetness” promotion on the ASDaze forum, if you want start before that then feel free to start a discussion on why Nana is fake on the ASDaze forum and I’ll join you sometime after this promotion.(@ASDaze please don’t delete discussions like that) Btw on the forum I’m PlayboyzAdam, come by and say hi and let’s be friends. I hate your hate for Nana but I don’t hate you so let’s try to get along. Also if you consider your arguments against Nana valid think again…if you don’t understand want makes an argument valid, its EVIDENCES.

            • ueeshi says:

              ok for you I’m a hater, but I think I’m a logical fan who criticizes positively as negatively.

              I’m a fan of uee and after school with all its members (yes a fan not a hater) but I understand that you’re on the defensive because I talked about your bias NANA.

              I never said she was fake but she was exaggerating her personality more nuance with the stuff on 4D and personality so bizarre it and yes as I think she exaggerates.

              as in my first comment I just said she had to restrict all this exaggeration and in my second comment is that the “scandals or insults” stops (if your behavior is perceived badly whatsoever done intentionally or no it can take years for people to change their perception of you “as to the character of uee in her drama that spawned a lot of hate for her even now”).

              NANA behavior or my comment will not affect the popularity of after school (if you want my views on the popularity of after school you can go read my com I posted about the article on the support of raina), it’ll just affect the popularity of NANA and people did not wait to read my com for the insult already here so I just post a sincere comments on what I think of this sitiation on different observations I did during all these years I’m a fan of afterschool.

              but when someone speaks a little negatively about your bias you handled directly haters.

              • AdamFJH says:

                For now I’ll accept that you are not a hater, but the way you act is very similar to a UEE bias fans hating on Nana. I know you never said she was fake, I just couldn’t think of a title for the ASDaze discussion but since Nana being fake was a common attack haters have against Nana I was proposing it + you mentioned stuff about Nana doesn’t really act like that(and I agree). I have no problems with your first comment until you said “don’t be disrespect with the elders” <– this is taken out of context and seems to have been made to make it look like Nana was being disrespectful to Jo Se Ho but if you actually watch the show you'll know Nana really likes and cares for Jo Se Ho a lot.

                In your other comment you said "NaNA to a lot of awkwardness (4minute, disrespect for elders, the thing with CL, disrespect with the comedian, the narcissism with its title of second most beautiful face with all the pictures of her hung everywhere)." which is a serious load of rubbish and because of that I don't think you are a logical thinker.

                The scandal and insults for Nana will only stop if the mass ignorance and stupidity stops. There's no other way out of it for Nana, Nana did what she did because people hated her because they though she was cold, now people are saying she's fake and hating on her for that.

                Fans like you are the ones responsible for why this allkpop article was written to begin with. You are perpetuating ignorance and lies about Nana and this will affect the popularity of After School as well as Nana. Can you give me a link to the article on the support of Raina. I'm having trouble finding it. Also did you post your comment before or after ASDaze was deleted?

                Just to be clear you are entitle to your opinions and I respect that but it's not your opinions that I'm concerned about, there are certain things you've stated as fact without providing evidence to back it up and I know those thing are wrong and it's those things I've I problems with. I've said things and I've haven't back them up with evidence yet because I don't have the time so none of what I've said is worth much I'm just saying this so fans will keep their minds open for now. When I'm done with what I'm working on I'll show you how much you know about Nana and how much of a logical thinker you are. Also I maybe on the defensive because Nana is one of my bias but I'm neither blind nor delusional. Dammit I really need to leave this discussion here at this point for now.

            • Guest says:

              ok for you I’m a hater, but I think I’m a logical fan who criticizes positively as negatively.

              I’m a fan of uee and after school with all its members (yes a fan not a hater) but I understand that you’re on the defensive because I talked about your bias NANA.

              I never said she was fake but she was exaggerating her personality more nuance with the stuff on 4D and personality so bizarre it and yes as I think she exaggerates.

              as in my first comment I just said she had to restrict all this exaggeration and in my second comment is that the “scandals or insults” stops (if your behavior is perceived badly whatsoever done intentionally or no it can take years for people to change their perception of you “as to the character of uee in her drama that spawned a lot of hate for her even now”).

              NANA behavior or my comment will not affect the popularity of after school (if you want my views on the popularity of after school you can go read my com I posted about the article on the support of raina), it’ll just affect the popularity of NANA and people did not wait to read my com for the insult already here so I just post a sincere comments on what I think of this sitiation on different observations I did during all these years I’m a fan of afterschool.

              but when someone speaks a little negatively about your bias you handled directly haters.

            • ueeshi says:

              and as you said if I am a hater of NANA you must be a hater of UEE to speak for “One Thing That Gave it away Was That you are a fan UEE and UEE fans are notorious for voicing Their haste for Nana in this fandom. ”

              which is the hater between us

              sorry this is not the first time you speak negatively of UEE in your comments but unlike you if your something constructive to say on her or Juyeon or jungha, euyoung who are my bias I’m not gonna Treaty hater .

      • AdamFJH says:

        @Ickoskyu “i was wondering if u be on her shoes n i comment same like u did,so hw u feel”….. yay someone that understands empathy, the basis for morality. Now if there was more fans like you I’ll be very proud of this fandom. Sorry I wasn’t paying attention to your comment before, I was too focus on @ueeshi:disqus’s comments but I’ll up vote your comment now🙂 and you’re right ueeshi doesn’t have the rights to judge Nana because ueeshi doesn’t actually know Nana as much as ueeshi thinks.

        • ichoskyu says:

          its ok,come grab our hand together n support all the member no matter what will happen in the future…peace n bless after school member n fans!!!!!^_^

    • AdamFJH says:

      @ueeshi What do haters like you want from her…there’s just no winning for Nana. Fans and haters use to say she acts cold/she’s got a cold personality because they know crap all about her. Nana does stuff like learn aegyo and go on Roommate just to shows she’s not like that, she’s actually fun and approachable. I agree that Nana should stop acting like that with the fake aegyo and stuff but you should know that IT’S HATERS LIKE YOU THAT CAUSED HER TO BE LIKE THIS IN THE FIRST PLACE and fans that didn’t know her that well too. I liked it better when people thought she was cold. Fan’s like you are ruining this for her and damaging After School’s success, STOP SPREADING YOUR HATE!!!!!

      @Renzel, you once asked about a project to show Nana our support….well now I’m thingking SCREW THE HATERS…lets go ahead with that project. After the “A Midsummer’s Night Sweetness” promotion I’ll formally propose a #LoveNana4Ever project if it doesn’t get proposed before I do it. Right now I’m really busy with this promotion and plans for After School’s next comeback(hopefully I can use them for this comeback if I finish them on time).

      SCREW THE HATERS because this is what WE think of Nana, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgzbQszau7s

      • Sarah says:

        Warning: I haven’t read the full conversation except: “I’ll formally propose a #LoveNana4Ever project”, and this is a personal note:

        but I also agree this would awesome! Actually i kinda saw this coming when i saw Nana would be on Roommate. You might have seen my wanna be project in the forum about introducing Nana to Blackjacks? hahahaha #fail. That was when i thought Nana would be rommates with Bom. xp

        But if we could just re-introduce people to Nana, like in the correct way~~ i think that would be awesome. I know when i first learned about After School i assumed they were aweful people (I KNOW!), so i know what it’s like to be on the other side and not understand:/

        • AdamFJH says:

          @Sarah:disqus ” I know when i first learned about After School i assumed they were aweful people (I KNOW!)” <– LOL, I'm so glad you became a Playgirlz because you are awesome. Lot's of people thought that After School were awful people. In the past After School was an outcasted group because other groups thought really poorly of them e.g. other groups thought they were stuck up and only listen to their own songs, when After School members did a dance from another group After School would get told to do their own dance etc. I'm so glad that After School have managed to get so close to other groups now.

        • marinesquad49 says:

          Have a good song to use for Nana-gram-a haha ;D will try to make tonight

      • ueeshi says:

        ‘_’

  3. Honest says:

    lol at these haters, people sometimes are overreacting. personally I love Nana’s attitude, she seem to be fun to be around with and imho people who says that Nana should change…. uhm they should left this fandom.

  4. EyoungFan says:

    I really need to see Roommate, I don’t understand what all this hate is about. I hope it won’t hurt Nana in the long run and that in the end the possessiveness will defeat the negativity.

    • AdamFJH says:

      @eyoungfan:disqus Roommate is fun to watch so I recommend you see it if you get the time and there’s actually is no and never was any valid basis for anyone to be hating on Nana.

      • EyoungFan says:

        I really have to pick that up, along with Golden Rainbow, A New Leaf and catching up on the world’s best Bible. ^^

  5. ichoskyu says:

    im sorry ueeshi,im already follow after school progression since they
    debut till new member came…im lookin carefully n observes the
    member,their hv different personality n nana also hv her own
    charms…everybody had own personality,im so sad that u r after
    school fan but u said somethin that offence word to other member…
    its does’nt matter u bias only 1 in the group
    but as ‘AFTER SCHOOL FAN’ u also need support others member too…

  6. marinesquad49 says:

    Lately Nana’s sorrows are written all over her face and it’s a tragedy that a cheerful and fun loving person has absorbed so many unwarranted negative comments😦 The timeline in my head of her progression goes from when she was innocently laying on the floor napping in one of the Playgirlz episode to having fun blossoming and developing charm in Lipstick with Orange Caramel to simultaneously doing Roommate and Style Log where she consoled the sad metal sculpture saying “It’s okay, I’m having a hard time too”. Her brightness went from sky high to dragged down by haters so fast and I can’t see a turn around in the near future:/ Nana fighting!!

  7. eunjungnana says:

    cant she live in peace?? aigoo.. its okey if you (the haters) want to give some opinion.. but cant you say it in a proper language.. not insult her..i think she will also take it as a advice for her future.. dont you think how hurt her feeling about your harsh comment.. thinks about others people too..

Leave a Reply

